Division Awards

2016 Leonard Diller Award lecturer

Keith D. Cicerone

Bruce Caplan, Ph.D., ABPP, FACRM is Board-Certified in both Rehabilitation Psychology and Clinical Neuropsychology by the American Board of Professional Psychology and is a Fellow of the American Psychological Association, National Academy of Neuropsychology, and American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine. Dr. Caplan serves as Senior Editor of Journal of Head Trauma Rehabilitation and is a member of the Editorial Boards of Topics in Stroke Rehabilitation and Rehabilitation Psychology. He previously served as Editor of Rehabilitation Psychology.  In 1987, Dr. Caplan edited the first comprehensive rehabilitation psychology textbook (Rehabilitation Psychology Desk Reference), and he was Co-Editor of the 4-volume Encyclopedia of Clinical Neuropsychology (2010).  He is Past President of the Philadelphia Neuropsychology Society and of Division 22 (Rehabilitation Psychology) of the American Psychological Association. He is the recipient of two Distinguished Service Awards and the Lifetime Achievement Award from Division 22. Dr. Caplan was a founding member of the American Board of Rehabilitation Psychology. Currently in independent practice, he was formerly Professor and Chief Psychologist in the Department of Rehabilitation Medicine at Jefferson Medical College.

2016 Wright-Dembo Award Lecturer

Chan Headshot.jpg

Fong Chan received his Ph.D. in Rehabilitation Counseling Psychology from the University of Wisconsin–Madison in 1983. He is a professor and chair of the Department of Rehabilitation Psychology and Special Education at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. He is also the co-director of the Rehabilitation Research and Training Center on Evidence-Based Practice in Vocational Rehabilitation. Before joining the faculty at University of Wisconsin–Madison in 1992, he was on the faculty in the Department of Psychology at the Illinois Institute of Technology for four years and the Department of Rehabilitation Counseling Psychology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center for five years. He is a certified rehabilitation counselor, a licensed psychologist, and a fellow in the American Psychological Association. Dr. Chan has more than 30 years of experience conducting applied rehabilitation research in the topical areas of psychosocial interventions, demand-side employment, transition and postsecondary education, evidence-based practice, and research methodologies. Dr. Chan has published over 300 refereed journal articles and book chapters. In addition, he is the editor of four textbooks: Case Management for Rehabilitation Health Professionals; Counseling Theories and Techniques for Rehabilitation Health Professionals; Understanding Psychosocial Adjustment to Chronic Illness and Disability: A Handbook for Evidence-Based Practitioners in Rehabilitation; and Certified Rehabilitation Counselor Examination Preparation: A Concise Guide to the Foundations of Rehabilitation Counseling.

previous wright-dembo award lecturers (2003 - 2015)

Timothy Elliott

2015 mitch rosenthal award lecturer

Timothy R. Elliott, PhD, ABPP, is a Professor in the Department of Educational Psychology at Texas A&M University, where he holds a joint appointment with the Department of Health Promotion and Community Health Services in the School of Public Health. Currently, he is the Executive Director of the Telehealth Counseling Clinic. Dr. Elliott is Board Certified in Rehabilitation Psychology by the American Board of Professional Psychology, and is a Fellow of the American Psychological Association (Society for Counseling Psychology, Division 22, and the division of Health Psychology). Over the 27 years of his academic career he has published 199 papers in peer-reviewed journals, 49 book chapters, and he co-edited the first Handbook of Rehabilitation Psychology. He served as editor of Rehabilitation Psychology (from 2006 to 2011) and currently serves as the Editor in Chief of the Journal of Clinical Psychology. Mentoring is an important part of his career. He has chaired 18 dissertations and co-chaired three others. Ninety of his peer-reviewed publications were co-authored with students, advisees, or fellows. His students routinely present at the Division 22 Mid-Winter Conference and at the annual convention of the American Psychological Association. Many of his recent book chapters have been co-authored with other junior colleagues throughout the country.